June at MWAA: Chapter Elections, Open Mic Night, & Cake!

Please plan to attend MWA Annapolis on Wednesday, June 20th at 7 p.m. to participate in the annual chapter elections, in which members elect the chapter president, secretary, treasurer, and program director. In advance of that, please consider becoming a candidate for one of those positions; it’s a great way to participate in your writing community!

We’re also planning to have a small celebration to mark the Maryland Writers Association’s 30th anniversary! MWA’s first chapter was in Annapolis, so we are the founding chapter. That deserves cake!

After elections, stick around for our perennial favorite activity, Open Mic night. (Well, technically, we don’t have a microphone, so you’ll need to bring your big, room-filling speaking voice). This is your chance to read from your published or unpublished, finished or in-progress work in front of a friendly group of supportive people. Plus, it’s a great opportunity for you to bring a friend or two along for that extra measure of camaraderie.


How to prepare:
Pick a passage that you feel represents your work well.
— Make sure that your reading is no more than five minutes. You’ll be surprised at how short the passage is on the page!
— Plan to spend a little of your time putting the reading in context for your audience. Briefly explain what your listeners need to know to understand what you’re reading.
— Practice–with a timer! Get to the point where you can look up and make eye-contact with your audience, and make sure you’re reading clearly and with feeling.
— Let me know that you’d like to participate by sending email to jenny@jbyacovissi.com. You can change your mind later to join in or opt out. There will also be an opportunity to sign up at the meeting.


This and all meetings are open to the public and free to MWA members and first-time guests. All others may pay $5.00. Annual dues to MWA are $40.00 and include other benefits on top of monthly attendance. MWA meetings meet the third Wednesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. in Room 205 at Maryland Hall, located at 801 Chase Street, Annapolis, MD 21401.


Your State and Chapter Officers

The new state board was elected on 11 June and began its two-year term on 1 July. We are thrilled to have a well-rounded slate of officers at the state level, and here they are:

President: Eileen Haavik Mcintire
Vice President: Janet Ruck
Secretary: Chip Trimmier
Treasurer: Kimberly Goon
Communications Chair: Rus VanWestervelt
Conference Chair: Jessica Williams
Program Chair: Michelle Markey Butler
Membership Chair: –Vacant–
Publications Chair: Kit O’Neill
Member-at-Large: Flo McCahon
Member-at-Large: Larry Matthews

For the Annapolis chapter, we are very excited to welcome two new officers this year, and we’re looking forward to a vibrant year of discussing, learning about, practicing, and reading lots of great writing! Your chapter officers are:

President & Program Director: Jenny Yacovissi
Secretary: Victoria Clarkson
Treasurer: Linda Wood